Music-making, my interlude.

Nicole Chufi (aka Chufi)
12 min readJan 22, 2022

Interlude {Google}= an intervening period of time, a breathing space between passages.

Music-making interlude {Me}= an essential breather and period to stepping back and diving into my sound and artistry. The most beautiful process I have ever experienced.

[tldr]

My music-making interlude started last year. It was like I had two parallel lives intertwined — my everyday life and my music life. I went from knowing very little about my sound and my artistry to delving and exploring the darkest corners and sides of myself and translating this into music.

It happened in a time of my life when I became the observer of the tricks my mind plays, how this affects the way I view the world, and to come to terms with the quirks that makes me who I am.

This is coming together as my first EP, a dream project of mine and perhaps the most beautiful thing I have written.

Most beautiful because it’s raw. I had no expectations of what would come out when I started, slowly I left things to connect and come together as words, stories, sounds, melodies, effects, and music…

Crucial for this to happen was trusting the process, opening myself to the creativity and the freedom that comes with it…to giving myself the space and solitude that I needed to discover and…

--

--

Nicole Chufi (aka Chufi)

Artist & Explorer #45 countries. Curiosity guides me. Community grounds me. Art & Music inspire me. Insta: @nicolechufi